Skip to content

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors set the strategic direction for WorkCover and tracks its performance to ensure the business meets its targets as set out in our Statement of corporate intent.

The statutory role and requirements of the Board are set out in section 427 of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 and chapter 8 outlines the powers and functions. The Board consists of nine independent non-executive Directors. The Governor-in-Council is responsible for selecting the Directors, based on their experience and knowledge, and determining their remuneration.

The Board reports to the Minister for Education and Minister for Industrial Relations. The Board Charter specifies the role and responsibilities of the Board in detail.

A Risk and Audit Committee is also in place to assist the Board in monitoring WorkCover's systems of internal control and ensure integrity of the financial reporting process. The role and responsibilities of the committee are set out in the Risk and Audit Committee Charter.

Flavia Gobbo

Flavia Gobbo BA/LLB, GAICD


Flavia is a Solicitor of the High Court of Australia and the Supreme Court of Queensland and has extensive experience as a senior corporate lawyer with one of Australia's top publicly listed companies. She is the Chair of the Emergency Services Telecommunications Authority, a Director of WorkSafe Victoria, the Deputy Chair of Rowing Australia and Deputy Chair of SecondBite, a not-for-profit national food rescue organisation. Flavia was Chair of QCOMP, the former Queensland workers' compensation regulatory authority.

Michael Clifford  Michael Clifford BA

Deputy Chair

Michael is the General Secretary of the Queensland Council of Unions.  He has represented the interests of working people for over 25 years in a variety of roles including as National Industrial Officer of the Finance Sector Union, Queensland Secretary of the Finance Sector Union, Coordinator at United Voice (now United Workers Union) and Assistant General Secretary of the Queensland Council of Unions.  Michael is the current Deputy Chair of Sunsuper and has been a Director on the Board of Sunsuper since 2016. He is a former Director of Intrust Super, where he also served as the Chairperson of the Marketing Committee. Michael was the inaugural Chairperson of the Australian Labor Party’s Queensland Policy Coordination Council and prior to that was the Deputy Chairperson of the Economic and Infrastructure Policy Committee. He also worked in the Community Sector for six years. He holds a Batchelor of Art degree majoring in Industrial Relations and History.
 Judy BertramJudy Bertram B Sc, Dip Ed, GAICD


Judy has extensive experience at senior levels in government leading the strategy, policy and operational management of workplace health and safety and in strategic policy and planning roles in the vocational education and training system and child safety. Judy has been employed by the Queensland Resources Council for the last 8 years and is currently the Deputy Chief Executive and Director, Community and Safety. She is also a Trustee Board Director of MineSuper and served for 9 years as a Director on the Board of Deaf Services Qld.
John Crittall

John Crittall  BEcon (Hons), MAdmin (IR)


John has extensive experience providing strategic guidance in the key areas of industrial relations, workplace health and safety and legislative compliance. He is currently a Director of the Building Employees Redundancy Trust, Director of Mates in Construction, Chair of Construction Income Protection Limited and Chair of Electro Group. John was formerly a Director at Master Builders, a role he held for over 10 years.

Kerriann Dear

Kerriann Dear  BSc, BSocWk (Hons)


Kerriann has worked in the field of industrial and mental health social work since 1999. She has overseen the development and operations at a number of industrial advisory programs for vulnerable people including Working Women Queensland, Young Workers Advisory Service and Domestic Violence Work Aware. Kerriann is a Branch Councillor with the Social and Community Services Division of The Services Union and works as a workplace consultant and educator in the public and not-for-profit sectors.

Ian Leavers

Ian Leavers APM


Ian is the General President and CEO of the Queensland Police Union, a position he has held since 2009, as well as the Vice President of the Police Federation of Australia. He has been involved with the Queensland Police Union as a union official since 1997. Since 2013, he has been a Director of QBank. Ian was formerly a member of the Domestic and Family Violence Implementation Council, former director on the Queensland Workplace Health and Safety Board, and is now a Domestic and Family Violence Prevention Champion for the Queensland Government. Ian was awarded the Australian Police Medal (APM) in the 2020 Queen's Birthday Honours List for his outstanding police leadership, advocacy and improvement of wages and conditions for all police, and being at the forefront of the creation of modern policing policy at both a state and national level, particularly with legislative reform.

Sarah Morris  BEcon, GDip Applied Finance and Investment, GDip Applied Corporate Governance, CA, FGIA, GAICD 


Sarah Morris is Executive Manager – Strategy and Finance at TUH Health Fund. Sarah has held senior and executive positions with several organisations across defence services, finance, insurance, resources and professional services industries. She is a former state and national councillor of the Governance Institute of Australia.

Lyn Rowland

Lyn Rowland  BA, PostGradDipHR/IR


Lyn's career has spanned both public and private sectors with 35 years' experience in human resources management and industrial relations, providing strategic and transformational leadership in executive roles in Normandy Mining, Queensland Rail, MacMahon Holdings, Limitless Holdings (UAE) and Queensland Health. Lyn has held Director roles with the Queensland Museum, Southern Cross Soloists and the Normandy Mining Superannuation Fund.

Judy Bertram 

Stacey Schinnerl BBus


Stacey is the Southern District Secretary and Vice President of The Australian Workers’ Union of Employees, Queensland (AWU). In both industrial advocacy and elected union positions, Stacey has represented the interests of Queensland workers for over 16 years. Stacey has previously served on the Executive of the Australian Council of Trade Unions and is a current Director on the Board of Chifley Services Pty Ltd.  She holds a Bachelor of Business degree majoring in Human Resource Management and Employment Relations.