Skip to content

Electrical Licensing Committee members

Keith McKenzie
Commissioner for Electrical Safety
Electrical Licensing Committee Chair

Keith started his electrical career in 1986. After gaining his electrical fitter and mechanics licence he worked for a number of companies on domestic, commercial, hospital, petrochemical and industrial projects.

He has served on a range of board and committees in the area of apprentice training, construction, training competencies, workplace health and safety and Australian standards and has been a member of the Electrical Safety Board and Electrical Licensing Committee since 2011.

Prior to his role as Commissioner, Keith was the President of the Queensland and Northern Territory Electrical Trades Union branches.

Veronica Mauri
Technical expert

Veronica is a Training and Safety Consultant and has extensive experience in training and safety in the electrical industry, a Diploma of Electrical Engineering, and a Bachelor of Business Management.  Veronica has been the technical expert of the Electrical Licensing Committee since 2008 and holds a licence as an Electrical Fitter Mechanic.

Jane Errey
Representing employers

Jane has recently retired from a senior electrical engineering position in Cairns. Jane is the Senior Electrical Engineer for SPA Consulting Engineers (QLD) Pty Ltd. She has experience in supervision, certification and delivery of engineering design work—particularly roadway lighting and electrical distribution design. Jane holds a licence as an Electrical Fitter Mechanic and has a Bachelor of Engineering.

Matthew Duncan
Representing employers

Matthew has been committed to the electrical industry for more than two decades across a variety of industries including, water, network distribution, data centre infrastructure, commercial and domestic installations. Matthew is currently the Technical Support Manager for Master Electricians Australia (MEA), providing expert interpretation and assistance to contractors and electricians on national and state based electrical safety standards. He has recently overseen MEA’s National Solar Inspections Program on behalf of the Clean Energy Regulator.  Matthew is also a member of the Electrical Equipment Committee and on the Technical Committee of EL-001 (Wiring Rules) with Standards Australia. Matthew’s dedication to providing best practice outcomes for the electrical industry stems from his career being a licensed electrical fitter mechanic and accredited trainer.

Jason Young
Representing workers

Jason is the President of the Queensland and Northern Territory Electrical Trades Union (ETU). Jason has extensive experience in the electrical industry and holds an Electrical Fitter Mechanic licence. Jason is passionate about the safety of electrical workers and is a member of several other boards and associations, including the State Council for the Electrical Trades Union, Electrogroup Board and the Queensland Council of Unions Executive and ETU Executive and National Divisional Executive. Jason is also a current member on the Electrical Safety Board.