Skip to content

Electrical Equipment Committee members

Keith McKenzie
Commissioner for Electrical Safety
Electrical Equipment Committee Chair

Keith started his electrical career in 1986. After gaining his electrical fitter and mechanics licence he worked for several companies on domestic, commercial, hospital, petrochemical and industrial projects.

Keith has served on a range of board and committees apprentice training, construction, training competencies, workplace health and safety and Australian standards and has been a member of the Electrical Safety Board and Electrical Licensing Committee since 2011.

Prior to his role as Commissioner, Keith was the President of the Queensland and Northern Territory Electrical Trades Union branches.

Scott Reichman

Scott is a Deputy Secretary of the Communications, Electrical and Plumbing Union - QLD and NT Branch, ETU Division.

Scott is also an organiser and coordinator for the manufacturing, communications and aerospace industries for the Electrical Trades Union Queensland and Northern Territory.

He is currently a board member of Energy Skills Queensland and has previously served as the director of Electro Group Apprentices.

With 30 years working in the electrical industry, he has extensive knowledge of electrical safety and has worked tirelessly to raise safety and training standards in the industry. Scott has also campaigned successfully to raise wages and improve conditions for all electrical workers.

Regina Roos

Regina is Vice President, Business Development of Typhoon HIL. She has a rich knowledge of hardware in-the-loop (HIL) concepts for microgrid, solar and energy storage as well as in powertrains and charging concepts of electric vehicles, including drones in industry, specifically in agriculture.

Regina has spent her career in the low-voltage and high-voltage switchgear business, including renewable solutions. She has completed various studies and produced publications about arc fault and personal protective equipment, with a focus on international electrotechnical commission standards.

She is a member of the German Quality Management Association, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Qualität, and chairs the chapter mobility of the Swiss Engineering Association. Regina holds a Master of Engineering and has completed a Swiss-Asia MBA, with a focus on culture transformation. Regina is leading diversity and inclusion panels globally for various associations such as the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Daren Mallouk

Daren is the manager of the fire investigation unit with Queensland Fire and Emergency Services and holds the rank of ‘inspector.’

He has extensive experience in emergency and disaster management, with a strong emphasis on fire origin and cause investigations.

Daren holds numerous post-graduate qualifications across these areas and has fire investigation certifications with both the International Association of Arson Investigators and Australasian Fire Authorities Council. He is a member of the Institution of Fire Engineers and a committee member of the Queensland Association of Fire Investigators.

Robert McClelland

Rob is the founder of Atomic Industries - a leader in Electrical Contracting since 2006.

Rob brings his diverse regional and metropolitan business experience to delivering solutions for complex projects for organisations in the industrial, commercial, retail and telecommunications spaces and is often called on to provide expert advice on complex interstate projects.

As a 30-year veteran of the industry, Rob is passionate about creating better opportunities through mentorship for the next generation of electrical professionals and entrepreneurs.

Myra Nolan

Myra is an experienced electrical engineer who brings over 15 years’ design, development and delivery experience in the energy sector.

Myra has provided technical leadership to the connection of over 3.2GW of new market participants while working at Powerlink Queensland and TransGrid.

She has led transitional workstreams for regulatory change at both Powerlink and TransGrid, including the 2017 transmission network contestability frameworks, and 2021 designated network asset changes.

Myra holds a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering and Master of Business Administration and is TransGrid’s estimating manager.

Matthew Duncan

Matthew has been committed to the electrical industry for more than two decades across a variety of industries including, water, network distribution, data centre infrastructure, commercial and domestic installations.

He is currently a technical advisor for Master Electricians Australia (MEA), providing expert interpretation and assistance to contractors and electricians on national and state-based electrical safety standards.

Matthew represents MEA on the Queensland Government’s security providers licensing industry forum and has recently completed managing MEA’s national solar inspections program on behalf of the Clean Energy Regulator.

Matthew’s dedication to providing best practice outcomes for the electrical industry stems from his career as a licensed electrical fitter mechanic and accredited trainer.

Sonja Basson

Sonja is a senior manager in the consulting area of Deloitte Climate & Engineering and has more than 16 years’ experience in the electrical industry.

She worked for a power utility for several years in South Africa before joining Schneider Electric, where she was trained in utility scale solar farm design and optimisation in France.

Sonja is known as a technology leader and program manager at the forefront of transformation projects. She is a subject matter expert in transition of energy intensive operations and power utility clients, through managing the deployment of ICT, enterprise solutions, asset optimisation, and industrial automation solutions, as well as Greentech for mining electrification, integrating renewables into the energy mix, and developing sustainability energy solutions.

Sonja is a chartered electrical engineer in Australia, Ireland and South Africa, a registered engineer in Queensland, and holds a Master of Business Administration from the United Kingdom.