Transport and manufacturing industry networks

Icons - transport - events

Workplace Health and Safety Queensland (WHSQ) works with industry to facilitate manufacturing, transport and logistics safety networks throughout Queensland.

Engage with other businesses in your sector or supply chain, in an informal setting to talk about safety, and exchange advice, information and resources.

Share and gain insight into industry specific issues and solutions, and meet with other stakeholders and regulators within your industry sector. Hear business leaders share their experiences with improving safety. These meetings are open to anyone within your business, particularly to people interested or involved in, occupational health and safety.

Recent network meetings have addressed topics such as:

  • Due diligence - what is it? How do you demonstrate due diligence?
  • The globally harmonised labelling system and impact on workplaces.
  • Why safety culture and climate is important and what makes a safety culture great.
  • How retrofitting safety equipment to vehicles in the existing fleet can help prevent workers falling when accessing and maintaining vehicles.
  • Fatigue management laws.
  • National Heavy Vehicle Regulator proposed legislative changes over next two years.
  • Driver distractions and technology.
  • Emergency planning.

Upcoming network meetings

Scan for WHS network - Sunshine Coast – all industries
May and November 2018
Email your expression of interest to Kerry.Cowling@oir.qld.gov.au

Wide Bay safety network – all industries
July and October 2018
Email your expression of interest to Daniel.Hartley@oir.qld.gov.au

Distribution network – manufacturing, supply chain and logistics
June 2018
Email your expression of interest to - Doug.Innes@oir.qld.gov.au

Glass industry network – glass and glazing subsectors
May/June 2018
Email your expression of interest to Peter.Westcott@oir.qld.gov.au

Mackay manufacturing transport and logistics network group
June, September, December 2018
Email your expression of interest to Mark.Lalor@oir.qld.gov.au

Beef industry safety advisory group – beef producers
July, October 2018
Email your expression of interest to Roslyn.Rees@oir.qld.gov.au

Event management network – event subsectors including transportation
Meeting schedule – TBC
Email your expression of interest to Vicki.Rooney@oir.qld.gov.au

Meat industry advisory group (MIAG) – meat producers
May 2018
Email your expression of interest to Manufacturing.whsq@oir.qld.gov.au

Manufacturing industry network: Brisbane North and South
May 2018
Email your expression of interest to Manufacturing.whsq@oir.qld.gov.au

Transport network Ipswich
June, Sept 2018
Email your expression of interest to TSG@oir.qld.gov.au

Manufacturing industry network – Rockhampton
June 2018
Email your expression of interest to Ivan.Frew@oir.qld.gov.au

Transport network - Port of Brisbane
June, Sept 2018
Email your expression of interest to TSG@oir.qld.gov.au

Transport network – South West (Toowoomba)
June, Sept, Dec 2018
Email your expression of interest to Vicki.Bennett@oir.qld.gov.au

Last updated
03 July 2018