Expert reference group

Melanie Dawson (Chair)
Manager Workplace Health Safety and Environmental Policy, Master Builders Queensland
Melanie Dawson

Melanie Dawson has over 14 years' experience in the construction industry both in commercial and residential sectors, and over 10 years' experience in workplace health and safety policy, practice and strategy, both at the national and state level. Melanie has held executive and general management positions with major employer associations in the construction industry and has tertiary qualifications in workplace health and safety and industrial relations.

Her extensive technical experience comes from involvement in numerous national and state committees, including the National Harmonisation Safe Work Australia Temporary Advisory Groups, the Queensland Construction Industry Sector Standing Committee, various expert reference groups, national and state working parties and code of practice steering committees. Melanie is currently the Chair of the Safety in Leadership Expert Reference Group and is passionate about improving businesses knowledge in this area of safety.

Greg Skyring
Commissioner for Electrical Safety
Greg Skyring

Greg was the National Manager for Lend Lease Services Power Infrastructure, and has extensive managerial experience in the electrical industry. He has also worked in project management, business management systems, strategic planning and risk management across a broad range of industries, including power stations, mining and minerals, water, utilities, oil and gas, and the commercial building sector. In addition, Greg has completed an Electrical Mechanic apprenticeship.

Annette Alexander
Senior Advisor Qld – Safety and Workers’ Compensation Services
Annette Alexander Annette has almost 25 years’ experience in work health and safety.

Annette completed a Bachelor’s degree in workplace health and safety in Queensland and started her career as WHS advisor, then Manager, for mineral processing plants in regional WA. Annette’s career has seen her in WHS roles for mineral processing, manufacturing and fast moving consumer goods (FMCG) businesses, government bodies, and the banking and finance sector. Annette worked in large and complex multi-site and multi-state organisations to advance their health and safety outcomes.

More recently Annette has worked in a consulting role assisting small to medium business owners across all industries meet their WHS compliance obligations with pragmatic and business focussed solutions.

Ms Bronwyn Reid
Director, 4T Consultants
Bronwyn Reid Bronwyn is a small business owner and entrepreneur who specialises in helping small businesses in regional areas to grow. Bronwyn and her husband and co-director Ian Rankine, have built and successfully run three businesses from Emerald in Central Queensland. Bronwyn has a wide appreciation of safety leadership across industries, particularly agriculture and mining. Bronwyn is a member of the Central Queensland (CQ) University Rockhampton Regional Engagement Committee, the BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance (BMA) Local Buying Foundation Advisory Committee, and a board member of the Queensland Rural Region and Remote Women's Network.

Mr Bryce McLaren
Safety Institute of Australia Representative, Safety Institute of Australia (Queensland Branch)
Bryce McLaren Bryce is a qualified health, safety and environment (HSE) professional with extensive strategic, tactical and operational experience in high risk construction, manufacturing, rail, oil and gas industries. He is currently Conventional Project Delivery HSE Manager for Origin's integrated gas business.

Dr Gunther Paul
Senior Lecturer, Queensland University of Technology
Gunther Paul Dr Paul is an internationally recognised expert in human factors and ergonomics. He has expertise in teaching, research, consultation and application of occupational health and safety and ergonomics principles to business operations. Dr Paul is a member of the panel of assessors at Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal (QCAT) and member of the Workplace Health and Safety and Workers' Compensation Expert Panel, Safe Work Australia.

Mr Hamish Hancox
Industrial Specialist
Hamish Hancox Hamish has extensive national and international management experience in executive and senior leadership teams within the agricultural, supply chain, mining and chemical industries. He combines his formal qualifications in psychology (risk), occupational health and safety, visual design and communication with more than 20 years of operational experience to deliver opportunities for individuals and organisations to enhance their risk maturity.

Mr Neil O'Sullivan
Managing Director, NOJA Power
Neil O'Sullivan Neil is the Managing Director of NOJA Power. He founded the company more than a decade ago with three partners to research, develop, manufacture and export high voltage switchgear. Neil has exported Australian technology globally for more than two decades and is proud of the employment opportunities it has created.

Professor Sidney Dekker
Professor, Griffith University
Sidney Decker Sidney completed his PhD in cognitive systems engineering from the Ohio State University in America, and has since gained worldwide acclaim for his ground-breaking work on human error and safety. Sidney is currently a Professor at Griffith University in Australia, where he has founded the Safety Science Innovation Lab.

Mr Trevor Love
Director, AusSAFE Consulting
Trevor Love Trevor is the founder and principal of AusSafe Consulting and has been a work health, safety and risk professional for over 35 years. He has a wealth of experience as a consultant, auditor, educator, investigator and expert witness. His major focus is driving safety leadership in organisations to support a strong safety culture and performance. Trevor lectures to future safety graduates and professionals about safety leadership, culture and management and his primary focus is on addressing critical risk and safety resilience within organisations. He is a Fellow and Life Member of the Safety Institute of Australia, where he also served as a Director, Board Member, National Vice-President and State President for over two decades.

Last updated
07 February 2020