Assessment and judging

All completed and submitted nominations will be assessed by judging panels that will score nominations against judging criteria.

Each award category will be assessed by a panel of individuals with relevant expertise in the award category. Panels will consist of representatives from:

  • Office of Industrial Relations
  • business, industry and union representatives.

Judges may shortlist up to five finalists in each category. Each shortlisted entry will be further reviewed to ensure that all conditions of entry have been met. Should any condition not be met, the nominee may be disqualified.

Short-listed entries will undergo on-site inspections (work health and safety categories only) and eligibility checks before the finalists and winning entries are decided.

On-site inspections of short-listed entries for work health and safety categories will be conducted by a Workplace Health and Safety Queensland or Electrical Safety Office inspector from the local area. If specialist or technical staff are required and not located in the local area, alternate arrangements will be made and may include video conferencing and other audit processes.

The awards judging panels reserve the right to consider entries in suitable alternative categories. If judges decide that there are no suitable nominees for a category, no nominations will be progressed to the finalist/winner stage.

Finalists will be announced in September 2019.

Closed categories

Judging panels will nominate entrants that demonstrate:

  • outstanding leadership in
    • Best demonstrated leadership in work health and safety (category six)
    • Best demonstrated leadership in return to work categories (category ten)
  • excellence in Best demonstrated healthy and safe work design (category eleven).

Winners of these categories will be decided by the suitable executive panel members that may include Work Health and Safety Board members and business, industry and union representation.

Further information

View the terms and conditions for more information.

Last updated
15 April 2019