Skip to content

Category four – Most significant improvement to work health and safety performance

This award recognises an organisation that has made a significant demonstrated improvement to its work health and safety performance. This may include making changes that have improved risk management, safety systems, injury prevention and/or safety culture.

Entry criteria

(Note: This information is in the online entry form)

View the category four example entry (PDF, 0.47 MB).

  • What was the issue?
  • When did you become aware of the issue and how was it identified (e.g. injuries, lost productivity, feedback, complaints)?
  • How did the issue impact on your business/work procedures? How was the performance impact measured?
  • What changes did you make to address the issue (what did they entail and how did they work—include photos or videos if possible)?
  • Explain how key stakeholders were involved, engaged and consulted. For example, the workers, management, design/manufacturer, experts (if necessary) and supply chain. What were their roles in developing and implementing the solution? Contributes to leadership category eligibility.
  • Provide any examples of challenges or barriers involved and how you overcame them (business size, resources, geography)?
  • How did the changes impact your health and safety systems and/or your supply chains? Contributes to leadership category eligibility.
  • Explain the benefits of the change and why the changes represent a significant improvement.
  • How are you monitoring and evaluating the effectiveness of the changes?
  • Provide evidence to demonstrate the improvements (i.e. positive indicators and/or preventative workplace activities) such as risk assessments completed, safety observations, audits, lagging indicators such as claims and incident/injury data, and other work health and safety performance reporting information.
  • Explain how the changes have been absorbed into the organisation's safety management system. Considerations may include, but are not limited to: demonstrated management commitment, consultation processes with all employers, training and supervision, safe work procedures and risk management processes, and safety reporting. Contributes to leadership category eligibility.