Skip to content

The 2022 awards

More than 93 organisations and individuals entered the Safe Work and Return to Work Awards this year, demonstrating their dedication to making Queensland workplaces healthier and safer.

Congratulations to all entrants for the level of innovation, leadership and commitment shown by businesses and individuals around the state. Thank you to everyone who entered the 2022 Safe Work and Return to Work Awards and congratulations to all of the finalists.


Do you know a person or business making significant improvements to work health and safety or return to work? Nominate them in the Safe Work and Return to Work Awards and have them recognised for their achievements.

If the person or business you nominate becomes a finalist, you will be invited to attend the awards ceremony at the W Hotel, Brisbane on Friday 21 October.

Entries have now closed.

By entering you can:

  • be acknowledged and raise your personal/business profile as a leader in work health and safety, electrical safety and rehabilitation and return to work
  • win up to $2000 per category
  • share solutions and network with other work health and safety and rehabilitation leaders
  • meet Queensland Safety Ambassador Shane Webcke at the awards ceremony.

You can enter the Safe Work and Return to Work Awards:

  • as an organisation or individual (depending on the category)
  • if you have a relevant initiative that is in the development stage, newly implemented or fully implemented
  • if you have achieved positive outcomes in work health and safety, electrical safety or rehabilitation and return to work.

You can also nominate someone (a business, individual or someone in your supply chain) for an award.

All completed and submitted nominations will be judged against each award category criteria by independent panels.

Every award category will be judged by a panel of representatives with relevant expertise in that category and consist of:

  • Office of Industrial Relations staff
  • business, industry and union representatives.

Judges can shortlist up to five award finalists for each category. All entries that are shortlisted progress and are reviewed to ensure that all conditions of entry have been met. If any condition is not met, the entry may be disqualified.

On-site inspections, for work health and safety categories only, will be conducted to shortlisted entries and eligibility checks completed before the finalists and winners are decided.

On-site inspections will be conducted by a Workplace Health and Safety or Electrical Safety inspector from that region. If specialist or technical advice is required and there are not any inspectors located in that region, alternate arrangements will be made (video conferencing and/or other audit processes).

The judging panels reserve the right to consider entries in suitable alternative categories. If judges decide that there are no suitable nominees for a category, no nominations will progress further.

Finalists will be announced in August/September .

What are closed categories?

Judges from categories one to six and eight to ten will nominate entrants that demonstrate outstanding leadership in work health and safety, electrical safety and rehabilitation and return to work into the closed leadership categories.

  • Best demonstrated leadership in work health and safety (category seven)
  • Best demonstrated leadership in return to work categories (category eleven)

Winners of these categories will be decided by executive panel judges (may include Work Health and Safety Board members and business, industry and union representation).

View the terms and conditions for more information.