Skip links and keyboard navigation

Queensland Government site header

Fire and Explosion Prevention

Hazardous area classification

Wherever flammable liquids, vapours, gases and combustible dusts are used, stored and handled, a hazardous area classification is required to assess the risk of fire and explosion.

A hazardous area is an area (three-dimensional space) in which flammable/explosive atmosphere is or may be expected to be present.

Fire and explosion can result in catastrophic consequences for people and property causing loss of life or serious injury and possible loss of business.

For this reason, electrical safety and work health & safety legislation imposes a duty of care on a person conducting a business or undertaking (PCBU).

The first step in order to control the risks is to conduct a hazardous area classification, to identify where flammable atmospheres may exist and either eliminate or control potential ignition sources.

View more information on controlling fire and explosion risks.

Note: Accredited auditors for electrical equipment in flammable hazardous areas

The Electrical Safety Regulation 2013 includes requirements for connecting or reconnecting electrical installations/equipment in hazardous areas to a source of electricity, including the requirement for such an installation to be accredited by a hazardous area auditor. A list of these hazardous area auditors is maintained by the Electrical Safety Office.

Hazardous area classification must be done by a suitably qualified person. Below is a list of auditors and engineers that may assist you in the classification of your area.

Note: The following information is provided as a free service to industry.

Workplace Health and Safety Queensland (WHSQ) and Electrical Safety Office (ESO) do not endorse the companies/organisations listed below and provides no assurance as to the quality of the courses/services/goods listed. The list is not comprehensive—there are likely to be other businesses which offer relevant services/supplies but which are not listed here.

If you would like your business listed as an accredited auditor, contact the Accredited Auditors team at accreditedauditors@oir.qld.gov.au. You will need to be an appointed Accredited Auditor for Hazardous Areas or provide a capability statement for work conducted in this area and outline relevant experience for consideration, as well as your preferred contact details.

Hazardous area classification specialists

NameLocation Phone Numbers Email

Argus, Brett

PO Box 3349,
South Brisbane QLD 4101

(07) 3846 6656

0435 193 456

brett.argus@qge.com.au

Armstrong, Christopher

PO Box 46,
Blackwater QLD 4717

0402 921 870

sales@rockminesolutions.com.au

Baker, Colin

PO Box 216,
Berwick VIC 3806

(03) 9707 3110

colin@eptech.com.au

Barrera, Raul

Level 19, 10 Eagle Street,
Brisbane QLD 4000

(07) 3303 0197

0419 727 543

raul.barrera@voltex.com.au

Blackie, Kevin

PO Box 4113
Eight Mile Plains QLD 4113

0426 818 136

kblackie@blackiemendham.com

Cannon, Crispin

PO Box 2454,
New Farm QLD 4005

0432 223 178

c.cannon@assureinternational.com.au

Dennis, Neil

Collins Square, Level 10
Tower Two, 727 Collins Street
Melbourne VIC 3008

(03) 9653 8381

0418 331 178

neil.dennis@aecom.com

Donaldson, Michael

Unit 18, 23 Ashtan Place,
Banyo, QLD, 4014

(07) 4955 0015

0418 794 116

michael@comlek.com.au

Downey, Stephen

PO Box 14005
Mount Sheridan, QLD 4868

(07) 3058 7000

0409 650 485

auditor@jantec.com.au

Doyle, Patrick

PO Box 530
Spring Hill QLD 4004

(07) 3058 7000

0409 650 485

patrick.doyle@logicamms.com

Dunnett, Terry

24 Siding Road,
Beecher QLD 4680

(07) 4971 8555

0428 737 200

tdunnett@monadel.com.au

Greber, Craig

PO Box 124,
Beaudesert QLD 4285

(07) 5541 3676

0415 514 508

craiggreber@hotmail.com

Guy, Bradley

PO Box 10871,
Brisbane QLD 4000

0403 568 740

brad.guy@bluefield.com.au

Hagen, Kevin

L9, 145 Ann Street
Brisbane QLD 4000

(07) 3316 4252

0429 556 136

kevin.hagen@ghd.com

Herriman, Kayne

PO Box 10871,
Brisbane QLD 4000

(07) 3051 4314

0403 568 740

kherriman@bluefield.com.au

Hurnall, Robert

7 Helena Street,
Wellington Point QLD 4160

0404 897 238

admin@blep.com.au

Jones, Alan

5-7 Tennyson Street
Mackay QLD 4740

(07) 4954 7524

0448 544 030

alan.jones@techserve.com.au

Kent, Gary

PO Box 3334
North Mackay QLD 4740

(07) 4942 4511

0409 394 600

gary.kent@techserve.com.au

Kerrison, Crispin

PO Box 3349,
South Brisbane QLD 4101

 

cris.kerrison@qge.com.au

Knox, Bruce

13-15 Headland Close,
Emonton QLD 4869

(07) 4033 3000

0412 774 663

b.knox@haz-elec.com.au

Lambkin, Evan

7 Hoare Court,
Bunya QLD 4055

0477 999 065

evan@spinncon.com

Langton, Robert

98 Alto Terrace,
Yatala QLD 4207

(07) 3807 9749

0412 701 757

rlangton@bigpond.net.au

Lewis, Adam

32 Cordelia Street,
Brisbane QLD 4101

(07) 3026 7100

0413 581 542

adam.lewis@jacobs.com

Little, Terry

PO Box 1293,
Warners Bay NSW 2282

1300 600 790

0412 402 632

terry.little@eehaengineers.com.au

Makin, Randall

5/126 Margaret Street,
Brisbane CBD QLD 4000

1300 236 673

0417 724 107

randall@waterlineprojects.com

Marshall, Grant

58 Bonville Avenue,
Thornton NSW 2322

(02) 4028 5000

0488 493 436

grant.marshall@nepean.com

Maunder, Andrew

PO Box 35
Redlynch QLD 4870

(07) 4031 0585

0407 893 754

andrew@safetylec.com.au

McCullough, Jamie

5 Verdi Court,
Burpengary QLD 4505

0438 717 994

jmccullough@compliance-engineering.com.au

Mendham, Frank

PO Box 4113
Eight Mile Plains QLD 4113

0421 407 633

fmendham@blackiemendham.com

Morris, Ray

PO Box 8970,
Mount Pleasant Qld 4740

0407 030 605

raymorris@bigpond.com

Muguira, Antonio

70 Admiral Drive,
Dolphin Heads QLD 4740

(07) 4954 9445

0409 160 533

tmuguira@mehe.com.au

Murray, Anthony

8/10 Depot Street,
Banyo QLD 4014

(07) 3333 2946

0416 898 485

anthonym@mvaeng.com.au

Plumpton, Robert

PO BOX 5626,
Mackay Mail Centre QLD 4741

(07) 4951 0041

0417 196 314

bob.plumpton@plumptongroup.com

Pomroy, Barry

PO Box 3349,
South Brisbane QLD 4101

(07) 3846 6656

0411 359 170

barry.pomroy@qge.com.au

Ritch, John

14 Charlotte Street,
Wavell Heights QLD 4012

0408 737 260

geoff@petrotex.com.au

Schmidtchen, Michael

PO Box 3349,
South Brisbane QLD 4101

0410 684 338

Michael.schmidtchen@qge.com.au

Segond von Banchet, Sean

7 St Ives Court, Mt Lofty, Toowoomba QLD 4350

0427 129 729

sean@svbextech.com

Songberg, Paul

Level 19, 10 Eagle Street,
Brisbane QLD 4000

0415 340 477

paul.songberg@voltex.com.au

Spresser, Paul

28 Samford Road,
Leichhardt Ipswich QLD 4305

0415 340 477

paul@epeeconsulting.net

Strath, Anthony

1/16 Metroplex Avenue,
Murarrie Q4172

0421 213 701

anthony@specialistelectrical.com.au

Strath, Jeffrey

1/16 Metroplex Avenue,
Murarrie Q4172

0418 546 101

jeff@specialistelectrical.com.au

Wicks, Paul

PO Box 3349,
South Brisbane QLD 4101

(07) 3846 6656

0411 171 248

paul.wicks@qge.com.au

Wilkinson, Luke

5/126 Margaret Street,
Brisbane CBD QLD 4000

0413 775 640

luke@waterlineprojects.com

Wilson, Colin

433 Boundary Street,
Spring Hill, QLD 4000

(07) 3058 7000

0400 712 423

colin.wilson@logicamms.com.au

Last updated
03 July 2017

Register now for Safety Leadership Challenge Mid-Point Event

Attend an after-work event on 20 November 2017 on the progress of the Safety Leadership Challenge. Hear directly from the leaders involved around their challenges and solution.

Read more...

Register now for Safety Leadership Challenge Mid-Point Event

There's nothing like getting back for getting better

Workers who get back to safe work as soon as possible recover more quickly than those who wait until they are fully recovered.

Read more...

There's nothing like getting back for getting better